JEFFERSON CITY, Missouri- Lieutenant Colonel Eric T. Olson, acting superintendent of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, announces that 27 troopers graduated from the Patrol’s Law Enforcement Academy on December 21, 2018. The ceremony took place at 10 a.m. in the Academy gymnasium. The 106th Recruit Class reported to the Academy on July 2, 2018, to begin the 25-week training to become a trooper. The new troopers will report to duty in their assigned troops on January 7, 2019.

Governor Michael L. Parson provided the keynote address during the graduation ceremony. Missouri Department of Public Safety Director Sandra K. Karsten served as a special guest speaker and Lt. Col. Eric T. Olson also addressed the class. The Honorable Roy L. Richter, Missouri Court of Appeals-Eastern District, administered the Oath of Office to the new troopers. Dean Roger K. McMillian, vice president of College Affairs for Mineral Area College, conferred an Associate of Applied Science to 16 of the new troopers. Troop F Color Guard presented and retired the colors. Trooper Orry R. Baker, Troop C, sang the national anthem. Minister Eric Bridges, Delray Christian Church, Delray, WV, provided the invocation and benediction.


“Congratulations to ’s 106th Recruit Class graduates! There is no calling more noble than to risk harm to yourself to protect total strangers. Thank you for your commitment, and God bless you as you protect the people of Missouri,” Parson tweeted.

Four class awards were presented during the graduation ceremony. The recruits accumulated points toward graduation in the categories of physical fitness, firearms, and academics throughout their 25 weeks at the Academy. The person with the highest number of points in each category earned the respective award. Trooper Thomas A. Reents earned the physical fitness award. Trooper Nathan L. Vines earned the firearms award. Trooper Gavin C. Leach earned the academic award. Trooper Michael T. McCoy accepted the Superintendent’s Award, which is presented to the person with the most points overall.

The names, hometowns, and first assignments of members of the 106th Recruit Class are listed below:

Name/Hometown/First Assignment

Chase Adkison, Kearney, MO, Troop A, Zone 4, Clay County
Jonathan R. Atherton, Fayette, MO, Troop A, Zone 15, Henry County
David A. Beck, Scott City, MO, Troop E, Zone 7, Scott/Mississippi/New Madrid Counties
Blaine C. Bridges, Sullivan, MO, Troop C, Zone 4, South St. Louis/Jefferson Counties
Skylar T. Bruenger, West Point, IL, Troop C, Zone 9, St. Charles County
Zachary D. Davidson, Harrisonville, MO, Troop A, Zone 6, Jackson County
Brandon S. Fahnestock, Kansas City, KS, Troop A, Zone 12, Johnson County
Garrett L. Hendrix, Poplar Bluff, MO, Troop E, Zone 2, Butler/Ripley Counties
Jacob H. Hirner, New London, MO, Troop H, Zone 6, Andrew/Buchanan Counties
Duncan Hughes, Jefferson City, MO, Troop H, Zone 5, Andrew/Buchanan Counties
Jacob S. Huskey, Crestwood, MO, Troop C, Zone 3, South St. Louis/Jefferson Counties
Gavin C. Leach, Owensville, MO, Troop I, Zone 3, Crawford County
Taylor K. Leftwich, Palmyra, MO, Troop A, Zone 5, Ray/Carroll Counties
Robert A. Martinez, Hartsburg, MO, Troop A, Zone 8, Lafayette County
Michael T. McCoy, Jefferson City, MO, Troop C, Zone 4, South St. Louis/Jefferson Counties
Casey M. McDonald, Blue Springs, MO, Troop A, Zone 3, Clay County
Caleb M. Morgan, Piedmont, MO, Troop E, Zone 1, Butler/Ripley Counties
Tyler A. Pierson, Rushville, MO, Troop H, Zone 6, Andrew/Buchanan Counties
Bryce T. Quiring, Chillicothe, MO, Troop H, Zone 7, Clinton/Caldwell Counties
Thomas A. Reents, Litchfield, IL, Troop C, Zone 9, St. Charles County
Randall W. Rosenthal, Conway, MO, Troop A, Zone 16, Benton County
Austin L. Royster, Monett, MO, Troop A, Zone 12, Johnson County
Tristan M. Royster, Carthage, MO, Troop H, Zone 8, Clinton/Caldwell Counties
Tyler J. Straatmann, Villa Ridge, MO, Troop C, Zone 3, South St. Louis/Jefferson Counties
Dillan A. Vandeven, Dexter, MO, Troop C, Zone 14, St. Francois/Washington Counties
Nathan L. Vines, Rogersville, MO, Troop I, Zone 8, Laclede County
Dylon M. Wyatt, Perryville, MO, Troop C, Zone 16, Ste. Genevieve/Perry Counties