Jefferson City, MO

Gov. Jay Nixon today announced his nominations and appointments to seven boards and commissions. The nominees and appointees, along with their boards and hometowns, are:

Child Abuse and Neglect Review Board (April Wilson – Memphis; Courtney Kovachevich – St. Louis; Susan Fluegel – Shrewsbury) The Child Abuse and Neglect Review Board provides an independent review of certain child abuse and neglect determinations. The Governor has nominated all three for terms ending April 7, 2018.
Children’s Trust Fund (Nick Heberle – Jefferson City; Margaret “Peggy” Krokstrom – Chesterfield; Sharon Rohrbach – Fenton)The Children’s Trust Fund works to prevent or alleviate child abuse and neglect by planning and policy development; ensuring appropriate funding of results-oriented programs, training programs for prevention professionals, and research; promoting public awareness and education; and assisting in the integration of statewide prevention efforts. The Governor has appointed Heberle for a term ending Sept. 15, 2017, and Krokstrom and Rohrbach for terms ending Sept. 15, 2019.
Governor’s Council on Disability (Rosemary Hendon – West Plains; Raymond “Chip” Hailey – Joplin) The Governor’s Council on Disability works to promote employment of people with disabilities and create a climate in which all Missourians with and without disabilities have equal opportunity for full participation in all aspects of community life; educates the public to reduce stereotypes and promote more accurate images of disability in the community; and represents needs, issues and concerns of people with all types of disabilities in the formation of public policy. The Governor has appointed Hendon for a term ending Oct. 1, 2017, and Hailey for a term ending Oct. 1, 2019.
Missouri Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (Cheryl Hibbeler – O’Fallon; Cindy McDaniel – Appleton City; Daniel Statler – O’Fallon) The council reviews the National Register of Historic Places nominations, reviews and provides advice on the state’s Historic Preservation Plan, and provides guidance and advice to the State Historic Preservation Officer. The Governor has appointed Hibbeler and McDaniel for terms ending Nov. 15, 2019, and Statler for a term ending Nov. 15, 2020.
Missouri Military Preparedness and Enhancement Commission (Royal (R.T.) Turner – St. Joseph; Hart Nelson – Brentwood) The commission advises the Governor and the General Assembly on military issues and economic and industrial development related to military issues. The Governor has appointed Turner, the former presiding commissioner of Buchanan County for a term ending May 27, 2019; and Nelson, the director of Public Affairs for the St. Louis Regional Chamber, for a term ending May 27, 2018.
State Rehabilitation Council (Joseph Matvou – Kansas City) The council reviews, analyzes, and advises the Missouri Division of Vocational Rehabilitation regarding its performance on such issues as eligibility, services provided to consumers, and any other functions affecting persons with disabilities. The Governor has appointed Matvou for a term ending March 11, 2019.
Statewide Independent Living Council (Donna Borgmeyer – Jefferson City; Bettina Vinson – Glendale; Deborah Peabody – Sparta; Karen Gridley – Kansas City; Tec Chapman – Columbia) The council develops and submits the State of Missouri’s plan required by the Rehabilitation Act. That federal legislation authorizes the formula grant programs of vocational rehabilitation, supported employment, independent living and client assistance. The council also will monitor, review and evaluate the implementation of the State plan. The Governor has appointed Chapman for a term ending Oct. 29, 2018; he has appointed the other four for terms ending Oct. 29, 2019.